Wow a fairly successful family outing!!

Yesterday, wanting to make the most of the nice weather, we decided to go out again as a family.  This time we had settled on somewhere we have been a number of times before, Pulborough Brooks which is an RSPB run place, this is usually a good bet because we know what I can and can’t manage. It’s not too far from us which is a bonus for a couple of reasons, firstly because travel for me is rather painful and secondly since my niece has become taller and Skoda made the back seats of their cars smaller we all struggle to fit in the car (I cannot afford a mobility car and we cannot get a larger family car either). Another huge bonus with Pulborough Brooks is that they have an off-road scooter to hire, which means that I can mainly join in and I can get around without worrying that I can’t manage the terrain. We phoned up on the day so I was a bit worried that this wouldn’t be available as usually we give 24-48 hours notice, but shock of all shocks (for us anyway) was that it was available and we could borrow it!! So we all went off crammed into the car, well those in the back seat are which I always feel guilty about because I can’t cope in the back (and at my size unfortunately it would be even more cramped). We had lunch first which came with a wonderful view and lots of little sparrows…..

The scooter was so good to have and although there weren’t many birds about we had a good time. The only downside for me was I needed my emergency kit (will be posting about this really soon as it’s becoming an essential piece of kit for me). I needed it before we got back but faced with a compost loo or a wait until we were back at the start was for me no contest, I waited  (using a compost loo once in my life on a school trip to the centre for alternative technology was once too many, I like my comfort I just don’t do anything like that!!) mum managed in the toilet like a trooper to help me change etc. It’s an unfortunate but increasingly common need for me. We then managed a sneaky ice cream before going home (shhhh if you don’t tell anyone it won’t have had any calories in it)

So for once a family trip didn’t end with arguments or disappointment. We enjoyed the day and I participated as much as I could (the hides really aren’t negotiable by me in an extra large scooter so someone waited with me outside while my niece went in to see what she could spot) RSPB Pulborough Brooks was a good trip out for us. 

Some photos of the day……

Have you got any go to places that you enjoy as a family??

14 thoughts on “Wow a fairly successful family outing!!

  1. That looks like a fun family outing indeed. We usually tend to go to National Trust properties since we are members and they do have lovely properties too 🙂

Leave a Reply

