Carers and phone calls

I’ve been having a bad few days so haven’t been up to posting. Today’s post I decided to write about my carers.

I’m lucky in a number of ways but one of those is my wonderful carers. I’ve deteriorated so much I have 2 different ones. I have my wonderful mum, who I love spending time with and who is my full time main carer, and then I have a regular carer from a care agency. I’m lucky on the whole the carers I’ve had from the agency have been really great and have become good friends. My current one takes me to appointments and helps me shower, do my hair and get dressed. I’ve had to make my peace with the fact that I need help with showering. I’ve always hated my body, I’ve got a patchwork of scars on my stomach from 3 keyhole surgeries (why they couldn’t go in through the same holes I will never know but presume there is some medical reason why not). 15 different sized keloid scars make me look like I’ve either had my body rebel against me and split apart or that I’ve been the victim of a very vicious pixie attack where their little sword has pierced my stomach in short little bursts!! It’s not pretty. Even when I had lost all my weight, (I had a gastric band and lost 6 stone) or before I’d even put my weight on, I had a sea of bright stretch marks shining on my thighs and stomach like waves rippling on an ocean, due to my EDS and my stretchy skin. I won’t go into any more detail as I have gone far into the realms of too much information already but needless to say I hate my body. Getting used to having another person helping me shower has been extremely difficult, my carers have been such that they have taken some of the embarrassment away, but I still do feel a little uneasy. However I do need them as I cannot manage on my own now. They also take a little of the work off mum who, apart from this hour in the morning and for certain hospital appointments, looks after me for the rest of the day.  I have so much appreciation for what my carers (especially my mum) do. 

However some people I rely on like my mum are tired themselves, it’s not that she doesn’t help me as she is always there for me but I wish I didn’t have to rely on her so much. She has a heart condition herself and also seriously arthritic hands.  I have been trying to get mum some help from carers support  (in the UK as am I) but they require a phone call, phone calls for me (and my mum) take all my energy, the sheer terror that a ringing phone sets off can trigger a total panic attack before I even answer it. Making a call takes every ounce of strength to remember to breathe,  follow the conversation and formulate my answer that often I can’t physically listen to the other end, I have to forget that long pauses on the phone don’t work and people often get frustrated with me. Either that or I can’t stop myself from interrupting their comments because if I don’t say my thought then and there I will forget it, again making the person on the other end of the “conversation” impatient with me. I used to write a short comment to read out before I started a phone call saying that they had to give me time to think and they had to be patient because sometimes I would have to ask them to repeat things, but even that didn’t work and I used to get them being even more impatient so I have stopped. I even have a message on my phone asking people to leave me a message so that I can expect their call and hopefully answer it and that I will block those who don’t leave a message as I will assume that they aren’t genuine (because I’ve had countless PPI, injury lawyers and other scam/nuisance callers), but again that seems to annoy some who leave stroppy messages!! It’s lose lose for me because it all adds up to my total avoidance, wherever possible, of using the phone. But when, like now, either I or someone I know needs something I spiral out of control again just wrestling with whether I am able to build myself up enough to make one simple call or not.  I just wish that getting help wasn’t so hard!!!

So what I will do about getting help I don’t know. But we’ll muddle through I’m sure, we’ve had to up to now!!!

Leave a Reply

