Blood test deja vous!!

Yet again two days ago saw me off to the hospital with mum for yet more blood tests!! We have researched and found out the quieter times because of my sensory problems and problems with crowds so late morning saw mum and me at the local hospital for my blood tests. Seems however that most of Horsham had had the same idea and we arrived and took our number  (Yes like a meat counter or other place you take a number and sit and wait to be called) I took number 76, but when we arrived they had just called 39. No seats in the waiting room or entrance to the room and my fear of crowds saw us waiting down the corridor on my scooter so mum was left standing. As discussed before our local surgery has stopped doing blood tests so this is our only option so we had to wait, because you cannot guarantee that if you come back at another time you’ll have any more luck. I’d forgotten my fiddle toy, as I’m preparing a going out kit bag and I’d been thinking of putting it in that. Because of that I’d forgotten to put one in my main bag. That was unfortunate because the sea of people and the lights and wait, plus the fact that the corridor has the toilets in it meant that I desperately needed something to calm me down!! Our wait of over an hour was rather difficult for me, this was our view……

Now I was glad that I was in the corridor but not sure how I would have got past the lady in the wheelchair even if I had wanted to be in there!!! So after over an hour we were finally called, by this time there was only 2 phlebotomists on duty and my stretchy crappy veins decided not to play ball!! Thankfully not as bad as my worst attempts, but I needed both phlebotomists, 20 minutes, 2 rooms, 3 changes of needles and thank goodness only 2 sticks and a vein massage to get 3 phials of blood!!! They better not need any more soon because I don’t think either mum or I could cope, and I can imagine the phlebotomists drawing straws to see who was unlucky enough to get me!!!

Arm 1

Arm 2…

But let’s see what these ones show shall we!! At the moment it really could be anything!!

It took a while to get over these my POTS and fatigue have been high since. I also have a nice bruise to remember the day!!  

10 thoughts on “Blood test deja vous!!

  1. Kayleigh Zara says:

    I’m glad that this went well for you, and wasn’t too bad an experience. I have to have blood test taken every month because of my blood condition and I hate it x

    Kayleigh Zara 🌿www.kayleighzaraa.com

  2. It is said that if you donate blood atleast once a year, it is good for health. But what to do if you have phobia from needles and blood test.

  3. Goodness that does not sound like a fun experience. I certainly hope your results come back quickly and that they are what you would like to see xx

  4. Sounds less fun, but keep the spirit friends.

  5. lolitambonita says:

    I hate having my bloods done. It’s rubbish that your GP doesn’t do they anymore! X
    Lola Mia // http://www.lolita24bonita@gmail.com

  6. Alison says:

    I hope you get the answers you need! It’s really too bad you can’t do it at your GP

  7. Postivfworld says:

    Hoping you get the answers you are looking for! I have to get bloods done ALOT and i hate them, so i feel your pain!!!

Leave a Reply

