Migraines and Mishaps

I’ve suffered with migraines since I was approximately 4 years old,  but you try telling the schools nurse (we had school nurses when I was at school) that you have a migraine and that you can’t do anything about them when you’re that age.  I heard that I was making them up, or it was just a headache as 4 year old’s cannot suffer with a migraine but it was a mistake that teachers and nurses alike only made once.  When I was young my migraines hit with no warning and the after effects lasted for days.  The only telltale sign that I had a migraine was uncontrollable yawning, a symptom that I carry to this day.  So I would promptly, if I started with the headache, tell the teacher “go and lie in the snuggly corner” was their usual response but falling asleep with a migraine I would really fall asleep.  Comatose was probably more like it, my earliest school memories are being woken up by my mum picking me up after such incidents with a worried teacher looking on and explaining that they’d never seen anyone fall asleep so heavily!!  The other mistake they often made was if they told me that I should take a tablet, it has only been in the last 20 years that I’ve been able to take any at all and even now I still struggle with them.  Projectile gagging and, or various incidents of them trying to get me to take paracetamol tablets really didn’t work.  I think however the worst of my migraine stories happened when I was first at secondary school.  Still having to fight to get people to believe that my migraines were real I went to the nurse to say I needed to go home as I had one.  The usual first response was suggested, that I lie down for a bit before I could go back to class, however my other rather unfortunate symptom of migraines was my rather impressive vomiting skills.  I have never been the neatest of pukers, one rather impressive feat when I was young was managing to throw up right down the stairs from the top to the bottom and unfortunately there are many many other stories of other rather unfortunate incidents.  However on this occasion the school nurse, having not believed that I needed to go home, had left me on my own in the medical room.  I managed to make it to the toilet, which was one good thing, however my aim wasn’t that good.  The nurse returned to me having managed to vomit over the entire wall, toilet and floor in the room.  Funnily enough after that if I said I needed to go home, I was sent home!!

So to my migraines now.  I have two distinct forms of migraines now, one being the same full blown migraine and the other being a manageable migraine which I call a migrainey headache.  It’s the same symptoms but I can usually take tablets in time to stave off having to go to bed for the day.  I can just about cope with migrainy headaches usually having them on and off for a day, but staying just bad enough to be felt.  I still yawn way more than you would normally expect and you can see in my eyes that I have a migraine but I can just about function as normal.  However I have a rather unfortunate side effect of a migrainy headache (because a normal migraine I have to stay in bed for I don’t actually know if I have this symptom with a full blown migraine too) of being even more comically clumsy than normal and very dopey too.  Now today I’ve had one of my migrainy headaches, it’s been there most of today.  This morning while getting ready for town, mum was trying to help me into my cardigan and at the time I also had my crutches instead of my walking sticks.  Mum offered me one arm, I managed to sort out which arm however trying to get it in was rather fun, tangles and turning the wrong way, bag straps over sticks and you have to have a bit of a giggle.  Driving my scooter into town was rather comical, although I think that the sudden urge I had whilst waiting for the crossing to change of pressing my power and surge forward into the traffic was rather more worrying however I did manage to quell that one!!  

I couldn’t work out today if my trigger was the air pressure and humidity or if it was simply my POTS playing up, it might have been both. I rarely know what has triggered one, cigarette smoke is definitely a trigger but that and stress are the only triggers we’ve identified. I have fairly regular migraines and migrainy headaches I have thankfully just got my migraine medication back after a few years without it being manufactured. I’m so glad it’s come back though as it’s the only thing I’m allowed to take and the only thing that works too! I don’t know why I’m so clumsy and ditsy when I have a migraine though but I do think perhaps that might be yet another reason why I don’t actually go out on my own, it’s probably a good thing I don’t really; can you imagine the stories if I did???

Leave a Reply

