Naps are important!!

I have again had real problems with trying to think about what to write.  I have been aware that while I really wanted to connect to people about my disability and issues that I and other disabled people have, I also wanted to review products and share useful things that I have and use to help others and I haven’t had the chance to do much of that.  I haven’t been buying a lot at the moment for various reasons, and have struggled to know whether to review products that I’ve had for a while.  I hope that I can get more reviews in, and I will write more about the different parts of EDS and how they affect people but I think that it will take time and I’d rather write, at least for now, on day to day things.  I have been very lucky and my blog post on falling asleep throughout the day has been published on “The Mighty” and even was quoted in the last newsletter email from EDS UK.  I’m hoping to send more posts and articles into them so hopefully you will see me on there more and more people will find my blog though there.  So for the time being I am again posting on the insomniac side of the CraftyInsomniac!!!

It was very stormy here last night, something that my body and mind do not like.  My symptoms are much worse again because of the storms and I have a severe phobia of them.  So this morning (12.50am to be exact) saw me downstairs on the couch after having migraine meds, pain meds, and a drink listening to my music shaking like a leaf while the sky was continually lit up for hours with almost constant very (to me) scary lightening and the occasional rumble of thunder.  To those who enjoy storms it was, I’m sure, a spectacle.  To me, however, I spent the night on the couch enjoying first my music and then once the lightening had died down my Quantum Leap box set!!  I think I must have had a maximum of 3-4 hours all night.   So I had a really bad night’s sleep last night and it led to today me needing to have a nap to keep going.    But while that was exactly what I needed my body and the universe seemed to be conspiring to let me do anything but take that nap.  I first tried this morning, thinking that as I’d been up all night (pretty much) it would be better to have a sleep and then I could get on with doing my emails and concentrate a bit more on them.  So I had a drink and then settled down on the couch hoping to have an hour’s nap.  Now nothing was particularly going round in my head, it wasn’t particularly noisy  and my pain killers were working as well as they ever do but could I settle, of course not.  I tried but just could not fall asleep, I gave up but of course within an hour what was I doing?  Falling asleep while using my laptop and having a drink, in fact now I wasn’t trying to I could have quite easily fallen asleep.   I would have been very uncomfortable and woken up in a lot of pain but I could have, and was, dropping off easily.  It was lunchtime though so after I’d eaten I settled down again, within 10 minutes the phone rang.  Then again and again, 3 times, you seriously have to be kidding me I thought.

I did manage after this to drop off for a bit thankfully topping up my energy although I know, very probably, that I will still be struggling to stay awake tonight whilst watching TV.  However I just want to add a little side bar here that napping isn’t, for me and others with long term conditions, laze.  No it’s necessary, some days it’s needed more than others and some days it’s just topping up energy while others it is catching up on sleep.  So please when you see someone having a quick 5 minutes nap, don’t jump to the conclusion that they are lazy.  It might just be, like it was for me today, a very much needed sleep.  That is if you can actually fall asleep!!

Leave a Reply

